REGION: Africa
COUNTRY: Republic of the Congo
VALUE: 5000 Central African CFA francs

Six countries in central Africa share the same currency, the Central African CFA franc. These countries (Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, and Gabon) each produce banknotes, but the banknotes are pegged at identical value and have a similar appearance.

This note, although undated, was printed in 1978 for the People’s Republic of the Congo, a communist predecessor the the modern Republic of the Congo. On its obverse, it displays a tribal man, a wterfall, and multiple plank masks of the Teke people of the Republic of the Congo and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. On the reverse, it displays a mask of the Punu people of Gabon, an engineering school, a madrasa, a lumber yard, and a wooden sculpture.