REGION: Africa
VALUE: 1000 Central African CFA francs

Six countries in central Africa share the same currency, the Central African CFA franc. These countries (Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, and Gabon) each produce banknotes, but the banknotes are pegged at identical value and have a similar appearance. This note, produced by the Bank of Central African States from 1993 until 2002 for Chad, depicts a young man and people harvesting coffee beans on the obverse, and on the reverse, a mask from the Kwele people of Gabon and people on an okoume raft.