REGION: Africa
COUNTRY: Cameroon
VALUE: 5000 Central African CFA francs

Six countries in central Africa share the same currency, the Central African CFA franc. These countries (Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, and Gabon) each produce banknotes, but the banknotes are pegged at identical value and have a similar appearance. This note, produced by the Central African Economic and Monetary Union in 1974 for Cameroon, depicts Cameroon’s President Ahidjo on the obverse with railway loading equipment, and on the reverse, it depicts a mukudj mask of the Punu people of Gabon and the Republic of Congo, along with a wooden statue and an industrial college.